Freaky Friday..

It’s been Freaky Friday in our house these last few weeks. The hubby has been poorly with a bad chest infection which they think had developed into a mild pneumonia. Every time he moved, he was out of breath and couldn’t do anything except sleep. Talk about turning of the tables!

It certainly gave me insight to what he does when I am poorly, all the support he gives me that I sometimes don’t even notice. He has been wiped out, no energy and out of breath. I really struggled to do more than I am normally able to do so we just had to let some of the domestic balls drop and accept help where we could find it.

It gave us both a better view from the other side. Neither of us liked it. Not that we particularly like the way it is when life is ‘normal’. I feel so frustrated I cannot pick up the things he does for me. That I cannot do the things others that are fit and healthy can do. It’s tough, it’s left me feeling drained. Physically and emotionally. There have been a lot of tears (mine) and a lot of naps! Thankfully things are improving and life is returning to normal.

Because of all the going on, January has gone by in a blur. I didn’t notice it! It was a haze of sleep, greys anatomy on TV and keeping a side eye on all thing’s coronavirus.

Is that a worry or what?! For most people the virus wont cause much of an issue or even be a problem. It is mainly the media whipping everything into a frenzy. For those of us with lowered immune systems and already difficult respiratory illness it’s just an additional thing to worry about. We catch cold and coughs with ease as it is. But, trying to not panic and blow things out of proportion in my mind.

I will have to start wearing my mask more when I am out and about if it does spread as they are expecting and continue with the usual; gloves, anti-bac, wipes, the lot. It’s a worry for sure but at this point I am still trying to keep it in perspective.

It is getting close to my birthday now and am trying to focus on that. I like to celebrate a lot so plenty of plans afoot!! Unfortunately, I have my repeat bronchoscopy the day after my birthday in Manchester so plans are being worked around that.

I feel very emotional about it ALL, mostly because I was so poorly with pneumonia after the last scope and it signified the start of ‘everything’. The diagnosis, the decline and what felt like the start of all my issues. That is without taking into account the actual procedure, the collapse of the airway and the flushing out the lungs. All in all, it is no wonder I am feeling anxious. I am just hoping that I cope with it physically better this time, that the current treatment regime I am on prevent it happening the same way again and there hasn’t been much further collapse of my airways. Not that I have much further to go!

Just trying to enjoy my plans over the next week and try not to think too deeply about it. I think that’s all from me, will update post scope with all things good news hopefully!

Until next time….

Author: lundoslungs

This is by no means a reflection of everyone's experience, its just me opening up about mine. Its me finding my way through the hazy experience of living and dealing with a long term disability alongside daily life, both good times and bad.

Leave a comment